Agency records · KY
Louisville Metro Police Department
License plate reader records for Louisville. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Plate reader vendors
Flock Safety, Axon
Policy names Flock systems and Axon mobile video integration. This is not a count of devices by vendor.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Reported camera count
294 LPRs. Agency portal-reported LPR camera count, also matching its total-camera count. Not all cameras in Jefferson County or every outside camera accessible to LMPD. Not independently field verified.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-23.
Data retention
Fixed-system data: 30 days unless exported to a case file or Evidence.com. Downloaded data has a separate 90-day rule with listed exceptions.
Source section 4.9.4. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-09-26.
Retention displayed in the public portal
The portal displays 30 days for data retention and separately states indefinite retention of access-log records. These are different record types; the portal display is not an independent storage audit.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-23.
Access and oversight
Trained personnel in authorized investigative or analytical roles may search. Other members request searches through the Real Time Crime Center.
Source section 4.9.3. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-09-26.
Separate technology program records
Louisville's August 25, 2026 announcement describes a shared DFR program supporting Emergency Management, LMPD and Louisville Fire. It reports offers to the first DFR pilots, with MetroSafe supervision in a remote operations center to follow equipment and communications training. Offers and planned supervision do not verify completed training or staffing. The city describes an additional $400,000 in the FY27 budget for eight more docks toward a total of 16. This is a funded expansion plan, not proof of 16 installed docks, 16 aircraft, an executed contract price or actual spending. No launch addresses are named; the separate Engine 18 fire-apparatus event does not identify a drone dock. This dated city account does not supply flight logs or drone recording, retention, access and sharing rules. Plate-reader counts and policies above are not assigned to the DFR program.
Source section Drone as First Responder. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-08-25.
Details not yet verified
Written camera policy, Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- LMPD SOP 4.9 Automated License Plate Reader. Checked 2026-10-23; dated 2026-09-26.
- Louisville Metro Police Department public transparency portal. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Skydio vendor account of Louisville shared fire and police DFR rollout. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- City August 25, 2026 DFR staffing and planned FY27 dock expansion account. Checked 2026-10-24; dated 2026-08-25.
Local map
Jefferson County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news


