Agency records · KY
Bancroft Police Department
License plate reader records for Bancroft. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Program status reported by the source
The city publishes SOP 23 governing ALPR use. Written rules do not establish present deployment, equipment quantity or actual compliance.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24.
What the public record establishes
The cover labels the policy date July 1, 2026 and review date June 14, 2028. The latter is a future review label, not a completed review. The city announcement is dated August 31, 2026. A signed supplier agreement, installation dates and current inventory were not established.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24.
Written camera policy
H-I require alert validation and visual matching of plate characters, issuing state and vehicle descriptors, plus a lawful stop basis. The wanted-status confirmation rule has an exigent-circumstances exception. M prohibits personal use, harassment, protected-class-only targeting, First Amendment infringement and nonpublic-view collection without a court order. These are written requirements, not an audit of actual searches.
Source section Pages 3 and 5, H-I and M. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-01.
Data retention
Section N sets a maximum of 90 days, with law-enforcement preservation governed by policy and the records retention schedule. Actual settings, exports and deletion were not verified.
Source section Page 6, N.4. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-01.
Access and oversight
Training, individual login and a documented reason before detection browsing are required; P also allows a case or incident number and/or reason. Q assigns the police commissioner a random sample of at least ten browsing inquiries from the prior period, without defining an audit interval. If an audit occurs, its memorandum is reviewed and retained. No completed audit was verified.
Source section Pages 2, 6-7, IV.A-B and P-Q. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-01.
Sharing rules
N-O permit release to authorized, verified law enforcement for legitimate purposes and route written requests to the records custodian. The policy preserves required public-records releases and cites KRS 189.632(4)(d). This describes the policy, not a legal ruling or verified recipient list.
Source section Page 6, N-O. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-01.
Details not yet verified
Plate reader vendors, Reported camera count, Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Bancroft Police Department SOP 23; policy date July 1, 2026 and future review label June 14, 2028. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- City announcement publishing the ALPR SOP on August 31, 2026. Checked 2026-10-24; dated 2026-08-31.
- Official city police contacts. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- Census 2024 Vintage Bancroft city county part. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
Local map
Jefferson County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news


