Agency records · VA
Henrico County Police Division
License plate reader records for Henrico County. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Program status reported by the source
On October 6, 2026, the county announced that its Police Division was terminating the Flock contract over privacy concerns, with a planned transition during the next seven days. Actual shutdown, device removal and retained-data disposition were not independently verified.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
What the public record establishes
The 90-day maximum for manually created hot-list entries is separate from plate-read retention. The county later announced termination of its Flock contract; the posted policy alone does not establish present operations.
The policy listing is dated August 17, 2026; an effective or revision date was not verified from the HTML.
Source section II.F. Checked 2026-10-23.
Plate reader vendors
Flock Safety
Vendor named in the dated contract-termination announcement. Present equipment or replacement vendors were not independently verified.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
Data retention
LP-59-26 specifies 21 days for fixed and portable reads, a purge within 21 days for mobile reads, and two years for audit trails. Case-related exceptions can extend retention through the investigation or final disposition, including specified appeals.
Written policy; configured retention and post-termination data disposition were not independently verified.
Source section V.A-C. Checked 2026-10-23.
Access and oversight
Authorized, trained users must give a specific offense and reason plus an official case or CAD reference. Individual credentials and multi-factor authentication are required. Audits occur at least every 30 days.
Written requirements; actual searches and audit completion were not independently examined.
Source section I.A-F, VI.B, VII, IX. Checked 2026-10-23.
Sharing rules
The policy lists defined law-enforcement, court-discovery, maintenance and emergency-alert purposes. Restrictions on outside-state, federal, private and commercial sharing have listed exceptions. Actual recipients were not independently verified.
Source section VI.D. Checked 2026-10-23.
Details not yet verified
Written camera policy, Reported camera count, Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Henrico County: announced Flock contract termination. Checked 2026-10-23; dated 2026-10-06.
- Census Vintage 2024 county file: Henrico County code. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Henrico Police LP-59-26: automatic license plate reader policy. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
Local map
Henrico County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news


