Agency records · OR
Portland Police Bureau
Drone program records for Portland. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every operation follows it. Reported equipment totals and mapped source locations have different scopes. A launch facility is not a drone count or a flight track.
Program status reported by the source
The city program page describes a Drone as First Responder pilot at East Precinct, alongside the broader UAS program. The page is a program description, not a verified flight or current fleet inventory.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
What the public record establishes
The September 4, 2025 launch announcement describes partner-owned equipment and Portland staffing. It says DFR drones would not record in transit and would record on scene when gathering evidence. These are announced operating rules, not an independent audit.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2025-09-04.
Reported drones
2 drones. The launch announcement describes two Gresham-owned drones for the East Precinct pilot. This is not the full PPB fleet, a current equipment audit or a count of mapped facilities.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2025-09-04.
Data retention
The reviewed SOP refers to public records law, Bureau policy and the UAS program retention schedule. It does not state one numeric retention period in this copy. Actual storage and deletion practices were not independently verified.
Source section Privacy Considerations, PDF page 4; Evidence, PDF page 6. Checked 2026-10-23.
Access and oversight
Only trained, authorized members may deploy UAS under Specialized Resources Division oversight. Flight reports document the call or case and digital-media disposition. Command staff may audit deployments. These are written requirements, not proof that every operation complies.
Source section Policy, PDF pages 1-2; Documentation and Reporting, PDF page 5. Checked 2026-10-23.
Recording rules
The general UAS procedure allows recording for anticipated evidentiary value and public transparency of flight operations. It also permits training recordings with privacy safeguards. Its scope differs from the DFR launch announcement.
Source section Privacy Considerations, PDF page 4. Checked 2026-10-23.
Operational partners
Gresham Police Department
Equipment and operational partnership described at launch, not a list of agencies receiving recorded data.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Technology named in the source
Unmanned aircraft systems (UAS), Drone as First Responder (DFR)
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Procurement record
The city program page says the council authorized $98,000 for additional equipment and training on September 4, 2024. This is a reported budget authorization for the broader UAS expansion, not an executed contract value or the purchase price of the DFR pilot.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2024-09-04.
Details not yet verified
Drone vendors, Named data-sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Portland Police UAS program and DFR description. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Portland DFR pilot launch announcement. Checked 2026-10-23; dated 2025-09-04.
- City-linked UAS standard operating procedure, undated copy. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
State map
The Oregon map contains community-mapped source records from multiple operators. It does not establish this agency's jurisdiction or equipment inventory.
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news



