Agency records · OH
Cincinnati Police Department
License plate reader records for Cincinnati. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Program status reported by the source
The October 6, 2026 presentation describes ALPR hot-list alerts and retrospective searches. It provides no numerical current reader inventory.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
What the public record establishes
Slide 15 describes the future stationary-ALPR vendor and contract as undecided. The presentation filing does not establish a new October 6 contract award.
Source section Slide 15. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
Plate reader vendors
Motorola, Axon
Stationary Motorola and vehicle-mounted Axon ALPR described in the October presentation.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
Data retention
Both ALPR systems are listed with one-year retention. Evidentiary extracts follow evidence schedules through the case or potential litigation; a separate audit-log duration is not stated.
Source section Slides 3 and 15. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
Access and oversight
Published Procedure 12.031, dated April 22, 2008, requires trained, authorized operators, visual plate confirmation and wanted-status confirmation before enforcement. It describes older vehicle equipment and does not establish current platform security settings.
Source section Policy and section B. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2008-04-22.
Sharing rules
The overview describes outside-agency sharing upon request. It does not identify all recipients or establish actual permissions.
Source section Slide 15. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
Separate technology program records
Separate systems have different reported periods: city video 14 days; drone video 90 days; body and vehicle video at least 90 days, with evidence exceptions. FUSUS community-video access is distinguished from registration only, with no platform archiving stated. Participating owners may have separate storage.
Source section Slides 5, 7-8 and 15. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-06.
Details not yet verified
Written camera policy, Reported camera count, Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Council file 202602829: presentation filed October 6, 2026. Checked 2026-10-23; dated 2026-10-06.
- CPD surveillance technology presentation, October 2026. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Procedure 12.031: ALPR, dated April 22, 2008. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Census 2024 Vintage county-place relationship: Cincinnati. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
Local map
Hamilton County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news


