Agency records · NC
Durham Police Department
License plate reader records for Durham. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Program status reported by the source
General Order 4089 R-1, revised October 15, 2025, describes leased ALPR and access to privately operated systems. It is not a current equipment inventory.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2025-10-15.
Data retention
The policy assigns system owners a 30-day hosted-data purge, while allowing department downloads and archives. Data beyond 90 days requires a qualifying preservation request or warrant. Request-preserved records have a one-year period that can reset with another request. These are distinct storage scopes; actual deletion was not audited.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2025-10-15.
Access and oversight
Trained designated users have individual logins and logged searches. The administrator conducts annual or more frequent audits of access, successful uses and training. Audit reports are kept at least three years; this is not a plate-image or access-log retention period.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2025-10-15.
Sharing rules
Outside disclosure requires a written request from another law-enforcement agency for law-enforcement or criminal-justice purposes. Non-network requests need an incident number, purpose and administrator or CID approval. Private-system access invitations require approval. Commercial disclosure is prohibited. Actual connected partners and permissions were not audited.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2025-10-15.
Details not yet verified
Written camera policy, Plate reader vendors, Reported camera count, Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- General Order 4089 R-1, effective April 2, 2025 and revised October 15, 2025. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- Census 2024 Vintage Durham city geographic county parts. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
Geographic county records
These are sourced geographic relationships, not findings about police service boundaries, camera ownership or an agency inventory.
Census geographic city parts; not police service boundaries or camera ownership.
Geographic source, checked 2026-10-24.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news



