Agency records · KY
Elizabethtown Police Department
License plate reader records for Elizabethtown. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
What the public record establishes
The March 2, 2026 Attorney General decision upheld withholding a camera-location record under the law-enforcement exemption. It documents the department's use of Flock at that time, not a current device inventory or a general exemption for all camera records.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-03-02.
Plate reader vendors
Flock Safety
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-23.
Reported camera count
45 LPRs. City-linked portal-reported LPR cameras. Not every camera in Hardin County, and not a field-verified device inventory.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-23.
Data retention
General Order 7.6 sets a 30-day maximum, with longer retention required by Kentucky law or applicable retention schedules. Evidentiary records follow the retention schedule. Actual storage and deletion behavior were not independently audited.
Source section IV.F, PDF page 6. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-07-13.
Retention displayed in the public portal
The city-linked portal separately displays 30 days and describes evidence or legal-retention exceptions.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-10-23.
Access and oversight
Access requires trained employees using individual credentials. Queries need a documented reason and incident number. The order requires monthly user audits and separate weekly local-hotlist reviews, with written audit records. These requirements do not establish actual compliance.
Source section IV.C-E, PDF pages 3-5. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-07-13.
Access statement in the public portal
The portal states that multi-factor credentials and a valid reason are required. Its indefinite-retention sentence does not clearly identify the retained record type, so it is not used here to establish a plate-data or audit-log retention period.
Source section Access Policy. Checked 2026-10-23.
Named sharing partners
Germantown OH PD, Meade County SO KY, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
Visible examples from the outgoing list, which reports 3,264 entries and includes old/inactive labels. The examples are incomplete; the total does not establish that every entry is an active police agency or has performed searches.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Other technology named in the source
Automated license plate readers, Drone as first responder program
Programs described on the city transparency page. No drone launch sites, flight tracks or operating-camera count are inferred.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Details not yet verified
Written camera policy, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Kentucky Attorney General decision 26-ORD-068. Checked 2026-10-23; dated 2026-03-02.
- City police department project and Hardin County geography. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Current city police technology transparency page. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- City-linked Elizabethtown Police public transparency portal. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- Elizabethtown General Order 7.6, revised July 13, 2026. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
Local map
Hardin County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news



