Agency records · KY
Anchorage Police Department
License plate reader records for Anchorage. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
What the public record establishes
SOP 1200.00 lists August 28, 2026 as both its effective and review date.
Source section Page 1. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-08-28.
Written camera policy
Officers must visually match plate characters, issuing state and vehicle descriptors, and confirm wanted status through dispatch or a department computer. The status-confirmation rule has an exigent-circumstances exception. An alert alone does not justify a stop; reasonable suspicion remains required.
Source section IV.I-J, pages 2-3. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-08-28.
Data retention
The rule caps ALPR data at 90 days. Data preserved for law enforcement follows policy and the records retention schedule. Actual settings, exports and deletion remain unverified.
Source section IV.O.4, page 6. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-08-28.
Access and oversight
Approved initial training, annual refreshers, individual logins and a reason before browsing are required. Every 90 days, audits must randomly sample at least ten inquiries and document errors in a memorandum reviewed by the chief or designee and filed in agency records. Completed audits are unverified.
Source section IV.A-C and Q-R, pages 2 and 6-7. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-08-28.
Sharing rules
Release is limited to authorized, verified law enforcement for legitimate purposes. Written requests go to the records custodian. Other requests and transfers follow the policy's KRS 189.632(4)(d) limits; actual recipients are unverified.
Source section IV.O.4, P and Q.3, page 6. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-08-28.
Separate technology program records
The June 12, 2023 council minutes record the chief reporting that Flock cameras for viewing vehicles entering and leaving the city had been installed. Retention and warning signs were discussed, without a recorded duration or adopted signage rule in that account. This historical report does not establish camera type, quantity or current operation, and is not used to assign a vendor to the separate ALPR policy.
Source section PDF page 1, Police Report. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2023-06-12.
Details not yet verified
Plate reader vendors, Reported camera count, Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Official Anchorage Kentucky police identity and ALPR policy link. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- Anchorage ALPR SOP 1200.00: effective and review date August 28, 2026. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- June 12, 2023 council minutes, page 1: historical Flock installation report. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- Census 2024 Vintage Anchorage city county part. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
Local map
Jefferson County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news



