Agency records · IL
Illinois State Police
License plate reader records for Illinois, statewide. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Program status reported by the source
ISP describes a statewide program using stationary and mobile plate readers. These agency records do not cover every Illinois police department.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Plate reader vendors
Motorola Solutions
Primary statewide project vendor and VehicleManager platform, as described by ISP; not the manufacturer of every Illinois camera.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Reported camera count
808 LPRs. Installed statewide total displayed on the undated transparency page. Its dated paragraphs have different reference periods. Not a present field inventory.
Source. Checked 2026-10-23.
Data retention
ENF-051 separates 90-day VehicleManager detections, permanent plate-search and hit/alert records, and 30-day FlockOS detections. Evidence uploads and other records follow the referenced retention procedures.
Written policy; actual storage settings and deletion were not audited.
Source section IV.E.9 and V.C. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-02-26.
Access and oversight
Users need training and LEADS certification, with refresher training every two years. Credentials cannot be shared. Users enter a valid case number and authorized purpose when prompted. The statewide coordinator conducts monthly audits and sharing reports.
Source section IV.B and IV.E. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2026-02-26.
Sharing rules
The transparency page requires written consent or an MOU for law-enforcement dissemination and says federal sharing access was removed. Actual recipient lists and current system permissions were not independently audited.
Source section Privacy safeguards and FAQ11. Checked 2026-10-23.
Contract value
$25,000,000 maximum payment ceiling unless formally amended.
Original agreement ceiling, not verified spending. Pricing is estimated and work depends on agency approvals. Later amendments were not reviewed.
Source section 2.2, 2.5 and 2.6. Checked 2026-10-23; source date 2024-06-28.
Contract start date
2024-06-28
State signature date; the original term begins on contract execution. The vendor signed earlier.
Source section State signature page and 3.1. Checked 2026-10-23.
Contract end date
2027-12-15
Original agreement end date, subject to earlier termination and any later amendments.
Source section 3.1-3.3. Checked 2026-10-23.
Details not yet verified
Written camera policy, Named sharing partners. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- ISP statewide ALPR transparency page. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- ISP ENF-051, revised February 26, 2026. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
- ISP Motorola statewide camera agreement: original execution, pricing and term. Checked 2026-10-23; source publication date not stated.
State map
The Illinois map contains community-mapped source records from multiple operators. It does not establish this agency's jurisdiction or equipment inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news



