Agency records · TN
Knoxville Police Department
License plate reader records for Knoxville. Each fact keeps its source and checked date.
Written rules describe policy, not proof that every search follows it. Agency-reported camera totals have a different scope from community-mapped county points.
Program status reported by the source
The department page reports 27 fixed Axon readers and 30 mobile readers integrated with officer dashcams. The page supplies no inventory date.
Source section License Plate Readers. Checked 2026-10-24.
What the public record establishes
Fixed readers, mobile dashcam readers and the separately listed RTIC video-camera locations have different scopes. This profile does not combine them into a citywide camera total.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24.
Written camera policy
A hit alone does not authorize enforcement. Officers must visually match it and verify active NCIC or manual-hotlist status. If manual status cannot be verified, enforcement requires independently observed reasonable suspicion or probable cause.
Source section 16-19. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-28.
Plate reader vendors
Axon
Source section License Plate Readers. Checked 2026-10-24.
Reported camera count
27 LPRs. Fixed readers only, reported by the undated department page. A separate 30 mobile dashcam readers is not included. These are source-reported figures, not an independent current inventory.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24.
Data retention
Captured plate data has a 30-day maximum, with an ongoing-investigation exception. Preserved data must be destroyed when an investigation ends without charges or the related criminal action concludes. Actual settings and deletion are unaudited.
Source section 29. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-28.
Access and oversight
Trained members only; queries need a specific reason and report number, or a Field Interview if unavailable. Queries are logged. The Police Compliance Specialist and administrator must audit monthly; completed audits are unverified.
Source section 11, 15, 26-27. Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-28.
Sharing rules
Outside-agency inquiries require lieutenant-or-higher prior approval and a Field Interview identifying approver, requesting agency/officer and reason. KPD requests for outside searches also need approval and documentation. These requirements do not establish actual connections.
Source section 15(a)-(b). Checked 2026-10-24; source date 2026-07-28.
Separate technology program records
The same page describes RTIC use of public and private video feeds and voluntary camera registration or integration through Fusus. The ALPR count and retention rule do not describe all RTIC video cameras.
Source. Checked 2026-10-24.
Details not yet verified
Named sharing partners, Contract value, Contract start date, Contract end date. No value is inferred from a county map count or another agency's policy.
Source documents
- Official Knoxville RTIC, fixed/mobile LPR counts and program FAQ. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- G.O. 4.26 ALPR policy, effective June 27, 2013, revised July 28, 2026. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
- Census 2024 Vintage place and county relationships. Checked 2026-10-24; source publication date not stated.
Local map
Knox County camera guide. The county map includes source points from multiple operators. It is not this agency's inventory.
Understand the policy
Who can search Flock data? · How retention rules differ
How to read a camera policy · Why map counts differ from agency totals · All agency records · Tracking news


